The Confederation of the Rhine

The Confederation of the Rhine was born from the ashes of the Holy Roman Empire. Franz II was the last Holy Roman Emperor and he was forced by Napoleon to surrender his title and dissolve the Holy Roman Empire after his defeat at the Battle of Austerlitz fought out between France on one side and Austria and Russia on the other. He then reigned as Franz I of Austria. On 12 July 1806 the Treaty of the Confederation of the Rhine was signed and 16 states, former members of the Holy Roman Empire (HRE), left the HRE and joined in the Confederation.

As the HRE broke up, the remaining states joined the Confederation with the exception of Austria, Prussia, Danish Holstein and Swedish Pomerania. The French annexed the Principality of Erfurt and some territory on the west bank of the Rhine.

The states that made up the Confederation of the Rhine are listed below, split between the College of Kings and the College of Princes. When the confederation was formed, Napoleon was its protector and he granted higher titles to the German rules who joined – higher then the had been before. So, for example, the Duke (herzog) of Bavaria was raised to the title of King of Bavaria – so Bavaria became a kingdom. The list is split – first are the members of the College of the Kings followed by those members of the College of the Princes.

The College of Kings
Nation Title Notes
Baden Grand Duchy of Baden 8,000 troops committed
Bavaria Kingdom of Bavaria 30,000 troops committed
Berg Grand Duchy of Berg Berg was eventually absorbed by Cleves, 5,000 troops committed
Hesse Grand Duchy of Hesse-Darmstadt 4,000 troops committed
Regensburg Principality of Regensburg after 1810 became the Grand Duchy of Frankfurt
Saxony Kingdom of Saxony 20,000 troops committed
Westphalia Kingdom of Westphalia Westphalia was created by Napoleon. 25,000 troops committed
Württemberg Kingdom of Württemberg 12,000 troops committed
Würzburg Grand Duchy of Würzburg This was created by Napoleon. 2,000 troops committed
The College of Princes
Anhalt-Bernburg Duchy of Anhalt-Bernburg 700 troops committed
Anhalt-Dessau Duchy of Anhalt-Dessau 700 troops committed
Anhalt-Köthen Duchy of Anhalt-Köthen 700 troops committed
Arenburg Duchy of Arenberg The duchy was mediatised in 1810. 4,000 troops committed to the Confederation. Arenberg had a few different ways of being spelled – Aremberg was the most common variation
Hohenzollern-Hechingen Principality of Hohenzollern-Hechingen 4,000 troops committed
Hohenzollern-Sigmaringen Principality of Hohenzollern-Sigmaringen 4,000 troops committed
Isenburg Principality of Isenburg-Birstein 4,000 troops committed
Leyen Principality of Leyen 4,000 troops committed
Liechtenstein Principality of Liechtenstein 4,000 troops committed
Lippe Principality of Lippe-Detmold 650 troops committed
Mecklenburg-Schwerin Duchy of Mecklenburg-Schwerin 1,900 troops committed
Mecklenburg-Strelitz Duchy of Mecklenburg-Strelitz 400 troops committed
Nassau Duchy of Nassa (Usingen and Weilburg) Nassau-Usingen and Nassau-Weilburg conmbined to firm this duchy and committed 4,000 troops each
Oldenburg Duchy of Oldenburg The duchy was annexed by France in December 1810. There contribution was 800 troops
Reuss-Ebersdorf Principality of Reuss-Ebersdorf 400 troops committed
Reuss-Greiz Principality of Reuss-Greiz 400 troops committed
Reuss-Lobenstein Principality of Reuss-Lobenstein 400 troops committed
Reuss-Schleiz Principality of Reuss-Schleiz 400 troops committed
Salm Principality of Salm The two duchies of Salm-Salm and Salm-Kyrburg formed the principality of Salm. They were annexed by France in December 1810. They committed 4,000 troops.
Saxe-Coburg-Saalfeld Duchy of Saxe-Coburg A total of 2,000 troops were committed by these Saxe duchies together.
Saxe-Coburg-Saalfeld Duchy of Saxe-Gotha
Saxe-Hildburghausen Duchy of Saxe-Hildburghausen
Saxe-Meiningen Duchy of Saxe-Meiningen
Saxe-Weimar Duchy of Saxe-Weimar
Schaumburg Principality of Schaumburg-Lippe 650 troops committed
Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt Principality of Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt 650 troops committed
Schwarzburg-Sondershausen Principality of Schwarzburg-Sondershausen 650 troops committed
Waldeck Principality of Waldeck 400 troops committed

Thus the Confederation of the Rhine committed just under 150,000 troops to the cause of Napoleon.

This then is the fishing ground for my forces from the Confederation of the Rhine.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.